Asia Cup: Bangladesh beat Sri Lanka to reach final

DHAKA: Bangladesh defeated Sri Lanka by five wickets in the last league match in Dhaka on Tuesday to go through to the Asia Cup final.

Bangladesh and India finished on eight points from two games and the hosts went through because they had beaten MS Dhoni’s men in the group stage. It was really a proud moment for the Tigers (the Bangladesh team calls itself so) as they beat Sri Lanka by five wickets with 17 balls to spare. The following for the game in this part of the subcontinent is spectacular and now the team has something to show after their consecutive wins against world champions India and runners-up Sri Lanka.

The revised target of 212 off 40 overs (after a two-hour rain delay) was extremely tricky but Bangladesh showed that they have really evolved as a unit.

Sri Lanka 232 all out (49.5)

(Chamara Kapugedara 62, Lahiru Thirimanne 48, Upul Tharanga 48, Nazmul Hossain 3/32, Abdur Razzak 2/44, Shakib Al Hasan 2/56)

Bangladesh 212 for 5 wickets (37.1)

(Tamim Iqbal 59, Shakib Al Hasan 56, Nasir Hossain 36(not out), Mahmudullah 32(not out), Nuwan Kulasekara 2/30, Sachithra Senanayake 2/38)

Bangladesh beat Sri Lanka by 5 wickets (D/L method)

Match Information:

Series Asia Cup, 2012

Match Referee David Boon (AUS)

Toss Bangladesh, elected to field

13:00 Hrs – 20:30 Hrs

Umpires Steve Davis (AUS), Paul Reiffel (AUS)

Third Umpire S Ravi (IND)

Bangladesh team:

Mashrafe Mortaza, Mushfiqur Rahim, Abdur Razzak, Nazmul Hossain, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah, Nazimuddin, Shahadat Hossain, Jahurul Islam, Nasir Hossain

Sri Lanka Team:

Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Farveez Maharoof, Lasith Malinga, Upul Tharanga, Chamara Kapugedara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Sachithra Senanayake

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *