BPL: Match-4 Barisal Burners won by 22 runs against Duronto Rajshahi

DHAKA: Barisal Burners defeated Duronto Rajshahi by 22 runs in an interesting match on second day of the Bangladesh Premier League here at the Shere Bangla National Stadium on Saturday.
Chasing a modest total of 181 runs, Rajshahi could score 158 for nine in the allotted 20 overs. Opener Nizamur Rahman top scored with 65 from 52 balls with seven fours and two sixes as only two other batsmen – Pakistan allrounder Abdul Razzaq (27) and local player Sabbir Rehman 15 not out) along with ‘Mr Extras’ (10) – entered into the double figures. For the Burners, Pakistan paceman Yasir Arafat, Shane Harwood and Nazmul Islam took two wickets each.

Earlier, Pakistan opener Ahmed Shahzad made second consecutive half-century to help Barisal Burners post 180-2 in 20 overs. After captain Shahriar Nafees won the toss and decided to bat first in their second match of the tournament, the Burners openers Chris Gayle and Ahmed Shahzad again provided their team a solid start and made 82 in 8.1 overs.

Shahzad made an aggressive 67 from 40 balls with the help of six sixes and four fours while Gayle hit a brisk 39 off 23 balls with four fours and two sixes. Later, Shahriar Nafees (38) and Brad Hodge (28) added 56 for an unbroken third wicket partnership to give the opponent team a rather difficult target of 181

Barisal Burners Squad
Ahmed Shehzad*†, Alauddin Babu, Al-Amin Hossain, Farhad Hossain, CH Gayle, Hamid Hassan, SM Harwood, BJ Hodge, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Mithun Ali, Mominul Haque, P Mustard, Nazmul Hossain, Rameez Raja, Shahriar Nafees, Sohag Gazi, Suhrawadi Shuvo, Yasir Arafat

Duronto Rajshahi Squad:
Abdul Razzaq, Ariful Haque, Asif Ahmed, SM Ervine, Fawad Alam, Imran Tahir, Junaid Siddique, Mizanur Rahman, Mohammad Sami, Mukhtar Ali, Mushfiqur Rahim*†, Qaiser Abbas, Rizwan Cheema, Sabbir Rahman, MN Samuels, Saqlain Sajib, Soumya Sarkar, Syed Rasel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *