Sialkot Stallions Win The Faysal Bank Super-8 T20 Cup 2012

The sparkling half-centuries from skipper Shoaib Malik and Haris Sohail helped Sialkot Stallions to clinch the Faysal Bank Super Eight T-20 Cup with a crushing eight-wicket victory over Karachi Dolphins in the final at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium on Sunday.

Chasing a rather difficult target of 168, captain Shoaib Malik and Haris Sohail hit unbeaten half-centuries to help the Stallions complete the victory in 18.5 overs.

Shoaib made 62 not out from 42 balls and Haris scored 55 not out off 48 balls as both added 119 runs for their unbeaten third wicket partnership after opener Imran Nazir’s breezy 20-ball innings of 41 with two towering sixes and six boundaries.

Earlier, the Dolphins made 167 for eight after their captain Mohammad Sami won the toss and elected to bat first.

Openers Shahzaib Hasan and Khalid Latif started aggressively to make 38 in only 2.5 overs before the latter went out for a breezy 30 from 12 balls. He hit four boundaries and a six.

Then, Rameez Raja Junior was run out for four due to a misunderstanding with Khalid when the score reached 63 in 5.5 overs.

However, Khalid Latif found a good partner in Asad Shafiq and both added 90 runs in 71 balls for the third wicket.

But as soon Asad got out for 38, wickets started falling quickly as Khalid held one end together as the Dolphins lost six wickets for just 14 runs to finish at 167-8 in 20 overs.

Khalid remained not out for 81 which he made off 59 balls with three sixes and seven fours.

For the Stallions, left-arm spinner Raza Hasan captured 4 wickets for 33 runs.

Karachi Dolphins Innings:

Fall of wickets:
1-38 (Shahzaib Hasan, 2.5 ov),
2-63 (Rameez Raja, 5.5 ov),
3-153 (Asad Shafiq, 17.4 ov),
4-154 (Sheharyar Ghani, 17.6 ov),
5-166 (Sarfraz Ahmed, 19.2 ov),
6-166 (Mohammad Sami, 19.3 ov)
7-167 (Tanvir Ahmed, 19.5 ov),
8-167 (Haaris Ayaz, 19.6 ov)

Sialkot Stallions Innings:

Fall of wickets:
1-6 (Shakeel Ansar, 0.3 ov),
2-51 (Imran Nazir, 5.2 ov)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *