Sydney: Sri Lanka beat Australia by 8 wickets in tri-series 2012

SYDNEY: Sri Lanka beat Australia by eight wickets at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Friday for their first victory in the one-day international tri-series.

Sri Lanka scored 152 for two off 24.1 overs to beat Australia, who were all out for 158, on the Duckworth-Lewis method in the rain-reduced ODI.

Sri Lanka won with 101 balls to spare for their biggest-ever ODI win over Australia in terms of balls remaining.

Match scores: Australia 158 all out (40.5 overs); Sri Lanka 152 for 2 (24.1 overs) on the Duckworth-Lewis method.



D. Warner c Maharoof b Malinga 13

M. Wade run out (Perera) 15

R. Ponting c and b Maharoof 2

P. Forrest c Mathews b Maharoof 16

M. Hussey c Sangakkara b Mathews 13

D. Hussey c Thirimanne b Perera 58

D. Christian lbw b Perera 6

C. McKay lbw b Herath 3

B. Lee run out (Perera) 0

M. Starc run out (Kulasekara) 17

X. Doherty not out 2

Extras (lb2, w11) 13

Total (all out; 40.5 overs) 158

Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Warner), 2-37 (Ponting), 3-37 (Wade), 4-60 (M. Hussey), 5-74 (Forrest), 6-81 (Christian), 7-95 (McKay), 8-104 (Lee), 9-153 (D. Hussey), 10-158 (Starc)

Bowling: Malinga 8.5-0-42-1 (2w/10), Kulasekara 8-1-29-0, Maharoof 8-1-18-2, Mathews 4-0-26-1, Perera 7-1-29-2, Herath 5-1-12-1 (1w)

Sri Lanka:

M. Jayawardene not out 61

T. Dilshan c D. Hussey b McKay 45

K. Sangakkara c Doherty b Lee 30

L. Chandimal not out 6

Extras (lb5, w5) 10

Total (2 wickets for; 24.1 overs) 152

Fall of wickets: 1-74 (Dilshan), 2-133 (Sangakkara)

Bowling: Lee 7-0-42-1 (2w), Starc 4-0-32-0 (1w), McKay 6-1-23-1 (1w), Christian 5.1-0-32-0 (1w), Doherty 2-0-18-0

Sri Lanka won by 8 wickets (Duckworth/Lewis)

Man-of-the-match: Thisara Perera (SRI)

Toss: Australia

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZL), Simon Fry (AUS)

TV umpire: Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Tri-series standings

Standings in the one-day international tri-series after Friday’s game between Australia and Sri Lanka in Sydney

(games, wins, losses, tied, points):

India 4 2 1 1 10

Australia 4 2 2 0 9

Sri Lanka 4 1 2 1 7

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *