ADELAIDE: India won the match by 4 wickets against Australia

ADELAIDE- AUS vs INDADELAIDE: Mahendra Singh Dhoni produced a gigantic six in the last over as India broke Australia’s stranglehold by snatching a nail-biting four-wicket victory over the hosts in the ODI tri-series on Sunday.
After winning the toss and electing to bat, Australia made 269-8, led by half-centuries by debutant Peter Forrest (66) and David Hussey (72).

In reply, India produced their best ever run chase at the ground to score 270-6 from 49.4 overs. Opener Gautam Gambhir laid the foundation with 92 before being adjudged leg before wicket to Clint McKay. In a tense run chase, India needed 12 from the last four balls from McKay, but Captain M.S. Dhoni, with 44 not out, lifted them to victory with two balls to spare.


Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Zaheer Khan, Umesh Yadav, Virender Sehwag, Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni(captain), Ravichandran Ashwin, Vinay Kumar


Michael Clarke(captain), David Hussey, Ryan Harris, Daniel Christian, Xavier Doherty, Matthew Wade, Ricky Ponting, Clint McKay, David Warner, Mitchell Starc, Peter Forrest

Series: Tri-Series in Australia, 2012

Toss: Australia, elected to bat

Umpires: Nigel Llong (ENG), Paul Reiffel (AUS)

Third Umpire: Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Scores: Australia 269-8 from 50 overs; India 270-6 from 49.4 overs

Man of the Match: Gautam Gambhir (IND)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *