LG ICC Awards 2012 Complete Coverage

A pleasant  evening in Colombo was made even better by the LG ICC Cricket Awards ceremony. Hosts of the evening were former Australian batsman Michael Slater and English TV presenter Sarah- Jane Mee.

Earlier, the following awards were announced:

West Indies bowler Sunil Narine – Emerging Cricketer of the Year 2012.

George Dockrell of Ireland – ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year.

South Africa batsman Richard Levi – ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year

Sri Lanka’s Kumar Dharmasena – ICC Umpire of the Year. (Read Full Story)

New Zealand’s Daniel Vettori – ICC Spirit of Cricket Award 2012.

India’s Virat Kohli is the ODI cricketer of the year.

Star of the evening was Former Sri Lankan skipper Kumar Sangakkara who walked away with three awards at the the ceremony
->LG People’s Choice Award
-> ICC Test Cricketer of the Year Award and
-> ICC Cricketer of the Year Award. (Read Full Story)


West Indian Legend Brian Lara and English Woman Cricketer Enid Bakewell were introduced into The ICC Hall Of Fame. West Indies’s Lara became 67th male member of Hall Of Fame , while England’s Bakewell became the third woman to be inducted.


Stefanie Taylor of West Indies won the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the year Award.

English wicket keeper batsman Sarah Taylor won the ICC Women’s T20 Cricketer of the year.

All in all it was a great evening where Cricketers from all over the world attended the ceremony and players were rewarded for their good performances throughout the year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *