Pakistan won the Asia Cup 2012 after sensational final competition

DHAKA: Pakistan won the Asia Cup Final in a closely contested match against Bangladesh at the Shere Bangla National Stadium.

Chasing 237 for the win, Bangladesh fell short by 3 runs.

After being put into bat by Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim, who always liked to chase throughout the tournament, Pakistan could not bat impressively against accurate bowling and alert fielding from the hosts.

Stunned silent crowd, agonized Tamim Iqbal, a tearful Mushfiqur Rahim, gloomy Nasir Hussain and a pensive Shakib Al Hasan. Emotions run high and Sher-e- Bangla stadium would be engulfed in it. Never had they played such a high profile game. For the first time, odds were not stacked against them and they played, played not like underdogs but as heavyweights at par with their opposition Pakistan. Stats generally hide more than what they reveal, but here the 2-run loss does not hide anything; it only reveals character, the character of a bunch of youngsters talented cricketers.

Pakistan 236/9 (50 overs)

(Sarfraz Ahmed 46, Mohammad Hafeez 40, Shahid Afridi 32),

(Mortaza 2 wkts , Abdur Razzak 2 wkts, Shakib Al Hasan 2 wkts)

Bangladesh 234/8 (50 overs)

(Tamim Iqbal 60, Shakib Al Hasan 68),

(Aizaz Cheema 3 wkts, Umar Gul 2 wkts, Saeed Ajmal 2 wkts)

Pakistan beat Bangladesh by 2 runs

Match Information:

Series: Asia Cup, 2012

Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka, Bangladesh
March 22, 2012

Match Officials:
Umpires: Steve Davis(Aus), Ian Gould(Eng)
Third Umpire: David Boon(Aus)
Match Referee: Masudur Rahman(Ban)2


Tamim Iqbal, Nazimuddin, Jahurul Islam, Mushfiqur Rahim(c), Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Mahmudullah, Mashrafe Mortaza, Abdur Razzak, Shahadat Hossain, Nazmul Hossain


Mohammad Hafeez, Nasir Jamshed, Umar Akmal, Younis Khan, Shahid Afridi, Hammad Azam, Misbah-ul-Haq(c), Sarfraz Ahmed, Saeed Ajmal, Aizaz Cheema, Umar Gul

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *